Jul i krisetid

In this year situation was still too unsure and unsafe for me to travel and to visit my family during Jul. Therefore, I decided again to spend this special time in Oslo. That was my second Jul which I spent in this beautiful city in the north (see gallery ‘Jul i Oslo’). Luckily, not like in 2019, I was not alone. On the evening of 24 December 2020, I was invited for a festive supper. I had the opportunity to taste special Norwegian cuisine (including smalahove with red and white cabbage and potatoes). I am a pescatarian and my daily diet is pant based (I rarely eat fish meat) so tasting such a meal was an extraordinary and peculiar experience for me. It was really nice to experience some magic of Norwegian Jul on this day. I would like to thank you very much for the kind invitation!

On the morning of 25th December 2020, I photographed a very nice sunrise.

The weather was cold but nice on this day (it was still no snow). Therefore, I decided to walk to the centre of Oslo. I walked along Havnepromenaden and later went to Aker Brygge.

 As on Jul 2019, I saw and document festive decorations. In my opinion, the nicest of them were on Aker Brygge.

During my walk, I also had the possibility to observe and photograph birds. On chairs and trees, standing in front of Kaffebrenneriet, I saw the cute host of house sparrows (Passer domesticus).

Later, I decided to return home. On my way back, I had the opportunity to photograph nice sunset over Bestumkilen.

On the 26th December, snow appeared in Oslo. Therefore, I decided to go for a short walk to Vækerøparken, to document this nice snowy weather.

2 thoughts on “Jul i krisetid

  1. Pingback: Second Year of PhD Project – VIKING AGE BIRDS

  2. Pingback: Vintertur | Hrafn Photography

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.